Nevada Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws

Nevada car insurance laws require drivers to have 25/50/20 in liability coverage, which includes $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident with a $25,000 limit per person and $20,000 in personal property coverage. Having the minimum coverage can ensure that drivers are somewhat protected from the financial repercussions of an accident, but it may not be enough to cover damages, especially those to their own vehicle. Without car insurance, drivers in Nevada may be fined and penalized.

Loading...
tip icon

What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Nevada?

In almost all states, drivers are required to have auto insurance that has follows state-mandated minimum limits. While this can vary from state to state, drivers in Nevada require 25/50/20 in liability limits, which means that they need the following:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $20,000 for property damage per accident

How much car insurance you need in Nevada will depend on your unique situation, but it’s vital that you have a policy that follows the state's minimum requirements.

Loading...

What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?

Nevada’s minimum car insurance policy requires 25/50/20 in liability limits. This includes $25,000 in bodily injury per person with a $50,000 limit per accident and $20,000 in property damage coverage.

Bodily injury coverage pays for any injuries to a third party as a result of an accident where you are at fault. Aside from medical bills, bodily injury coverage can also pay for pain and suffering. Property damage coverage, on the other hand, pays for any damage to the other person’s property.

How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Nevada?

A number of factors can affect the cost of car insurance in Nevada. From your age and ZIP code to your driving history and credit score, insurers use different factors to determine your level of risk and thus the cost to insure you. Note that insurers weigh each factor differently, as some may put more value on your credit score or driving history.

USAA offers the cheapest state minimum auto insurance policies in Nevada at an average of $496 per year, but their policies are only available for military families. A more widely available option for drivers in the state is GEICO, as their policies cost an average of $583 per year.

Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Nevada

Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Nevada
  • Company
    Annually
    Monthly
  • 1.
    $496
    $41
  • 2.
    $583
    $49
  • 3.
    $819
    $68
  • 4.
    $893
    $74
  • 5.
    $947
    $79

These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Nevada driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.

Policies mentioned from each company in Nevada assume the minimum state coverage of 25/50/20. We used the profile of a 40-year-old Nevada resident driving a 2010 Toyota Camry with a good driving record and credit score.

Loading...

What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Nevada While Leasing a Car?

Leasing companies often have their own minimum coverage requirements, which are usually higher than that of the state. In Nevada, car lease insurance requirements typically include full coverage insurance with a liability limit of 100/300/50. To find out the minimum coverage you need, contact your financial leasing company.

While how much car insurance you need depends on factors unique to you, MoneyGeek recommends that drivers in Nevada have at least 50/100/50 full coverage insurance. As 10.4% of drivers in Nevada are uninsured, having additional coverage can ensure that you will have enough to cover third-party injuries and damages along with damages to your own vehicle in case you get into an accident with an uninsured driver.

Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Nevada

Having auto insurance is a legal requirement in Nevada — without it, you’re prone to receiving penalties and fines. However, car insurance penalties in Nevada depend on the number of offenses committed, as fines and reinstatement fees can increase with each offense.

In case you are caught driving by law enforcement without proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:

  • Reinstatement fee of $250–750
  • Fine of $250–1,000
  • Requirement of SR-22 insurance
  • Driver’s license suspension

Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Nevada

Auto insurance can be a confusing topic for any driver that’s new to the state. MoneyGeek answered a few frequently asked questions below to help drivers familiarize themselves with the auto insurance laws in Nevada.

Learn More About Car Insurance

About the Author


expert-profile

Mark Fitzpatrick is a senior content manager with MoneyGeek specializing in insurance. Mark has years of experience analyzing the insurance market and creating original research and content. He graduated from Boston College with a Bachelor of Arts and Johns Hopkins University with a Master of Arts.


sources