Nebraska car insurance laws state that drivers must carry a policy that meets at least the state minimum requirement of 25/50/25. This means you will have to buy an auto insurance policy that covers $25,000 in bodily injury per person and up to $50,000 per accident, with $25,000 in property damage coverage. Drivers are also required to maintain uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage with at least $25,000 for bodily injuries per person and $50,000 per accident. Failure to comply with these requirements can lead to penalties, suspension of registration, suspension of license or imprisonment.
Nebraska Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Nebraska?
How much car insurance do you need in Nebraska? Car insurance laws, which determine the minimum coverage requirements, vary by state. But the amount of coverage you should buy will also depend on your needs. If you are looking for the cheapest option, you can consider purchasing a policy that only meets the state minimum requirements.
Based on state laws, Nebraska car insurance policies should include the following coverages:
- $25,000 for bodily injuries per person
- $50,000 for bodily injuries per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
- $25,000 for uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person
- $50,000 for uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage per accident
Drivers with minimum-coverage policies tend to pay the cheapest rates in Nebraska. However, they also have the least protection. Evaluate your situation and needs to determine if these amounts are enough or if you need higher liability limits. For those looking for broader protection, getting a policy with comprehensive and collision insurance coverage may be the best option.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
Most states, including Nebraska, require liability insurance. It protects you from financial loss by paying for the other party’s injuries and property damage if you caused the accident. Liability limits in Nebraska are 25/50/25. This means your policy should have at least $25,000 for bodily injuries per person and up to $50,000 per accident. Nebraska car insurance requirements also include a minimum of $25,000 for property damage. Additionally, Nebraska also requires uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage of at least $25,000 for bodily injuries per person and up to $50,000 per accident.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Nebraska?
Various factors, including the driver’s age, ZIP code, driving history and credit score, affect the cost of car insurance in Nebraska. Rates may also vary greatly between different insurance companies. Shop around and compare personalized quotes to find the best and cheapest car insurance in Nebraska for you.
For a Nebraska minimum car insurance policy, the cheapest average annual rate is $307 from GEICO.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Nebraska
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Nebraska
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Nebraska driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
For this study, MoneyGeek compared average rates for state minimum liability coverage of 25/50/25 and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage of 25/50. The sample driver profile used was a 40-year-old male Nebraska resident with a 2010 Toyota Camry, a clean driving record and a good credit score.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Nebraska While Leasing a Car?
While state laws set minimum liability requirements for drivers, Nebraska car lease insurance requirements may be different. Leasing companies may require additional auto insurance coverage, so a policy that only meets the state minimums may not suffice. Most leasing companies will ask you to have full coverage car insurance that typically has at least 100/300/50 limits. This means you will need at least $100,000 for bodily injuries per person, up to $300,000 per accident, with $50,000 for property damage. Contact your leasing company to find their minimum coverage requirement in Nebraska.
When determining how much car insurance you need, you will have to evaluate your needs and circumstances. While some drivers may find Nebraska’s minimum car insurance to be sufficient, drivers who want better protection will have to purchase higher liability limits. Generally, MoneyGeek recommends at least 50/100/50 full coverage insurance for Nebraska drivers.
9.3% of drivers in the state are uninsured motorists. Nebraska requires all drivers to have uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage to ensure that they are covered for injuries and property damage if a motorist with insufficient insurance hits them.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Nebraska
Driving without auto insurance in Nebraska can result in penalties and fines. In addition to purchasing a policy with the minimum car insurance requirements, the state requires all drivers to always carry proof of insurance. This document is also necessary when registering a motor vehicle.
Failure to present proof of insurance when a law enforcement officer asks may lead to the following:
- License suspension until submission of proof of insurance
- Reinstatement fee of $50
Meanwhile, driving without auto insurance in Nebraska will result in the following penalties:
- Suspension of license, Certificate of Registration and license plates until payment of fees and submission of proof of insurance
- Reinstatement fee of $50
- Registration renewal fee of $50
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Nebraska
Drivers looking for auto insurance in Nebraska often have questions. Here are some of the most frequently asked queries.
Learn More About Car Insurance
About the Author
- CARCO Group. "CARCO FAQs: Pre-Insurance Inspection FAQs." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- Claims Journal. "Does Automobile Insurance Follow the Car or the Driver?." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- Consumer Federation of America. "Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance by State." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- Farmers. "CARCO Inspections." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "2020 Insurance Fact Book." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Background On: Compulsory Auto/Uninsured Motorists." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Facts + Statistics: Uninsured Motorists." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- Kelley Blue Book. "Penalties for Driving without Car Insurance by State." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- Nationwide. "What States Have No-Fault Insurance?." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- Nebraska Department of Insurance. "Auto Liability Insurance." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles. "Administrative License Revocation (ALR)." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles. "Driver’s License (Class O)." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles. "Insurance Requirements (Proof of Financial Responsibility)." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles. "No Proof of Insurance Conviction." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- Nebraska Legislature. "Nebraska Revised Statutes 44-6408." Accessed July 8, 2021.