Minnesota Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws

Car insurance laws in Minnesota require drivers to have minimum liability coverage of 30/60/10 along with personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage (UM and UIM). This translates to a policy that must cover a minimum of $30,000 per person for bodily injury, with up to $60,000 for all injuries per accident, $10,000 in property damage coverage and $40,000 in personal injury protection. Drivers failing to meet these state minimum requirements can be exposed to fines, penalties, suspensions and even jail time. While this minimum coverage serves to protect other parties after an accident, you can secure yourself and your vehicle as well by purchasing additional coverage and add-ons.

Loading...
tip icon

What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Minnesota?

How much car insurance do you need in Minnesota? You have to carry a minimum amount of insurance to legally operate your vehicle in Minnesota, which includes:

  • $30,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $60,000 per accident for all injuries
  • $10,000 for property damage
  • $40,000 per person for personal injury protection
  • $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident bodily injury liability for uninsured and underinsured motorists

You might see the minimum liability limits expressed as 30/60/10. While these are the minimum requirements, you can pay more for your insurance if you want greater coverage.

Loading...

What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?

Most states, including Minnesota, require liability insurance. This coverage pays for injuries or death sustained by other parties if you cause a vehicle accident. Minimum liability limits in Minnesota are expressed as 30/60/10, which means every driver needs to carry a minimum of $30,000 per person for bodily injury or death with $60,000 per accident. Property damage insurance covers the cost of any property, like another person’s car or home, that you damage during an accident. You need to carry a minimum of $10,000 property damage coverage in Minnesota.

Personal injury protection or PIP insurance will cover your costs for injuries you receive in a car accident regardless of fault. Whether you are a bystander, a passenger or a driver in the accident, you would be eligible to receive benefits up to the limits mentioned in your policy. PIP coverage can help with medical expenses, lost wages and several other costs. In Minnesota, you need a minimum of $40,000 in PIP coverage, $20,000 of which is for medical expenses and the other $20,000 is for non-medical expenses.

Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage protect you if you are involved in an accident with uninsured or underinsured drivers. In Minnesota, your policy must include at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability caused by uninsured or underinsured drivers.

How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Minnesota?

Car insurance costs in Minnesota can vary based on several important parameters like your age, driving history, ZIP code, credit standing and other factors. Different companies operating in Minnesota charge different amounts for car insurance.

The cheapest state minimum car insurance rate in Minnesota is offered by USAA and costs about $421 per year. However, USAA policies are only available for military members and their families. The cheapest car insurance available to most people is from AAA and costs about $509 per year.

Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Minnesota

Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Minnesota
  • Company
    Annually
    Monthly
  • 1.
    $421
    $35
  • 2.
    $509
    $42
  • 3.
    $561
    $47
  • 4.
    $605
    $50
  • 5.
    $637
    $53

These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Minnesota driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.

MoneyGeek compared car insurance rates in Minnesota at the state minimum mandated limits of 30/60/10 liability, $40,000 PIP and mandatory UM and UIM coverage for a 40-year-old male sample driver residing in Minnesota with a clean record and good credit standing driving a 2010 Toyota Camry.

Loading...

What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Minnesota While Leasing a Car?

While the state of Minnesota imposes certain minimum insurance requirements, if you lease a car, you would have to conform with the requirements of the leasing company. For most leasing companies, that would be a full coverage car insurance policy with 100/300/50 minimum liability limits. You should consult your leasing company to find out the minimum insurance coverage you need. In addition, be sure to understand the terms of your lease agreement to the fullest extent to ensure that you meet the minimum car insurance requirements specified in the lease.

If you are not sure about how much car insurance you should purchase in Minnesota, MoneyGeek recommends full coverage car insurance with at least 50/100/50 liability limits. Minnesota has a relatively low risk of uninsured motorists at 9.9% of drivers. However, it is still advisable to get full coverage insurance if you want to be covered for your own injuries and property damage.

Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Minnesota

Minnesota state laws have several penalties in place for drivers who drive without insurance. You must always carry proof of insurance and produce it on demand when asked by a law enforcement officer. This can be your insurance ID or electronic proof of insurance on your phone.

Failure to produce this proof is classified as a misdemeanor in Minnesota Here are some of the penalties for driving without insurance in Minnesota:

  • A minimum fine of $200
  • Criminal penalties including jail time
  • Revocation of driver’s license and vehicle registration

Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Minnesota

Learn More About Car Insurance

About the Author


expert-profile

Mark Fitzpatrick is a senior content manager with MoneyGeek specializing in insurance. Mark has years of experience analyzing the insurance market and creating original research and content. He graduated from Boston College with a Bachelor of Arts and Johns Hopkins University with a Master of Arts.


sources