All drivers must show proof of insurance if they want to operate a car in Idaho. The car insurance requirements in Idaho include liability coverage for bodily injury and property damage with limits of 25/50/15. Being an at-fault state, you will need to cover the other driver’s expenses from medical treatment and property repairs if you cause an accident. You also cannot have your car registered unless you have proof of insurance. Driving with no insurance in Idaho may result in penalties ranging from fees to possible jail time.
Idaho Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Idaho?
Driving without a license is illegal in Idaho. To avoid penalties, you need to ensure your policy meets Idaho’s car insurance requirements. It means carrying a policy with liability limits of at least 25/50/15, which provides the following coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $15,000 for property damage per accident
These limits fulfill Idaho’s car insurance requirements, but they may not provide enough protection during an actual collision. If you’re at fault and other driver’s costs exceed your policy’s limits, you’ll have to cover the remaining amount from your pocket. It’s something to consider when calculating how much insurance you need in Idaho.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
A minimum policy in Idaho lists its liability limits as 25/50/15. It means if you cause an accident, your insurance provider can help cover third-party property damage costs up to $15,000. Your policy also covers bodily injuries, up to $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Since these are Idaho’s minimum car insurance requirements, they do not protect you against your own costs should you or your passengers get injured. It also doesn’t cover any damage to your car. If you want additional protection, you may want to consider a policy that has comprehensive and collision insurance.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Idaho?
Car insurance companies consider several factors when setting premiums. These include personal information such as your age, driving history and experience. Your ability to manage your credit score is also a determinant, along with where you live in Idaho.
Comparing quotes from several providers helps you find more affordable rates. USAA offers the cheapest minimum car insurance in Idaho at $182 per year on average, but it's only available to former or present military members and their families. State Farm, which offers more widely affordable insurance, is also an affordable option. A policy with similar coverage costs an average of $284 annually.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Idaho
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Idaho
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Idaho driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
The rates above are for policies with Idaho’s minimum car insurance requirements for liability coverage of 25/50/15. MoneyGeek used a driver profile of a 40-year-old male driving a 2010 Toyota Camry with a clean record and good credit.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Idaho While Leasing a Car?
In Idaho, car insurance requirements for leased cars may differ from the state’s requirements because the lender determines them. Most leasing companies prefer you carry a full coverage car insurance policy because it provides more protection for their assets. Besides having collision and comprehensive insurance, they may also require minimum liability coverage of 100/300/50.
You should reach out directly to your lender to get their requirements. You can also ask about their payment terms and other regulations, which play a significant part in your agreement with them.
When deciding how much car insurance you need, consider the following things. It’s better to have a full coverage insurance policy with at least 50/100/50 liability coverage in Idaho since it affords better protection if you get into an accident. You may also want to consider including uninsured motorist insurance in your policy. Idaho currently ranks 20th among the states with the most number of uninsured drivers. Although it’s illegal to drive without insurance in Idaho, around 13.2% of drivers don’t have coverage.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Idaho
It’s illegal to drive in Idaho if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility. Driving with no insurance may result in various penalties, such as:
- Fine of $75 for the first offense and up to $1,000 for subsequent offenses
- Jail time up to six months for the second and subsequent offenses
- License suspension until you show proof of insurance per offense
You need to pay a fee of $85 each time you want to have your license reinstated. You also have to carry SR-22 insurance for a year after your first offense. For subsequent offenses, drivers need to maintain their SR-22 for three years.
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Idaho
Most drivers have questions about car insurance laws in Idaho. Here are the answers to the most commonly asked questions.
Learn More About Car Insurance
About the Author