Auto insurance provides financial protection for you and your car if you have a covered incident. All Florida drivers must maintain a policy that meets at least the state minimum requirements. If you do not meet these minimum requirements, you cannot register your vehicle in the state. These minimums include $10,000 in personal injury protection and $10,000 in property damage coverage. Drivers may want to consider increasing their coverage levels to ensure they are well protected in the event of an accident.
Florida Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Florida?
Each state has its own auto insurance laws that determine the minimum coverage requirements. But how much car insurance you need in Florida will also depend on your needs and circumstances. Drivers looking for the cheapest auto insurance in the state may want to consider minimum coverage.
Based on Florida car insurance laws, the minimum auto insurance coverage requirements in the state include the following:
- $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP)
- $10,000 in property damage liability
While drivers with minimum coverage policies typically pay the most affordable premiums in Florida, they have the lowest level of protection. If you think these amounts are not enough, you can look for a policy with higher liability limits. For broader protection, it may be best to find a full coverage policy with comprehensive and collision insurance.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
Unlike other states, Florida car insurance requirements do not include bodily injury coverage. Instead, drivers in the state need to have at least $10,000 for personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 for property damage liability.
PIP refers to coverage for medical expenses due to a car accident. It covers the policyholder and the passengers during the incident. If you get the minimum requirement in Florida, your insurance carrier will pay up to $10,000 for healthcare expenses regardless of who is at fault.
On the other hand, property damage liability is insurance that covers expenses related to damages you or someone driving your insured vehicle caused to another person’s property. For a minimum coverage policy, your insurer will cover up to $10,000 of the costs.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Florida?
Various factors affect the cost of car insurance in Florida. Insurance carriers evaluate individualized factors, such as the driver’s age, ZIP code, driving history, credit score and more when calculating insurance premiums. Rates may also vary depending on the insurance provider.
MoneyGeek’s study found that the least expensive widely available option for Florida minimum car insurance is GEICO, with an average rate of $590 per month.
Based on average rates, USAA has the cheapest rate in the state for a minimum car insurance coverage at an average of $405 per month. However, these policies are only available to current military members, veterans and their families.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Florida
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Florida
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Florida driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
Car insurance costs by company in Florida are based on the state minimum coverage of $10,000 PIP and $10,000 property damage liability coverage. The driver profile for this study was a 40-year- old male resident of Florida who drives a 2010 Toyota Camry and has a good driving record and credit score.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Florida While Leasing a Car?
Leasing companies may require you purchase additional auto insurance coverage. In most cases, a Florida minimum car insurance will not suffice. The majority of leasing companies will ask drivers to have a full coverage car insurance policy, which typically has at least 100/300/50 coverage. This means that if you plan on leasing a vehicle in the state, you will likely need $100,000 for bodily injury liability per person, $300,000 for bodily injury per accident and $100,000 for property damage per accident. However, Florida car lease insurance requirements may change depending on the company. Contact your financial leasing company to find out their minimum coverage requirement.
Figuring out how much auto insurance you should have will require you to evaluate your needs and circumstances as a driver. While Florida minimum car insurance may be enough for some drivers, MoneyGeek generally recommends at least 50/100/50 full coverage for additional protection.
Statistics show that around 20.4% of Florida drivers are uninsured motorists. That means you may not be covered if an uninsured motorist hits you without full coverage insurance.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Florida
As a no-fault state, Florida car insurance laws state that all drivers operating a motor vehicle need to have at least the minimum coverage requirement. Failure to comply will result in penalties, fines and other consequences.
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Florida
MoneyGeek compiled a few of the main questions people have about car insurance in Florida.
Learn More About Car Insurance
About the Author
- CARCO Group. "Pre-Insurance Inspection FAQs." Accessed June 25, 2021.
- Consumer Federation of America. "Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance by State." Accessed June 28, 2021.
- Farmers. "CARCO Inspections." Accessed June 28, 2021.
- Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. "Florida Insurance Requirements." Accessed June 25, 2021.
- Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. "FR Cases – Increased BIL/PDL Limits For DUI Cases." Accessed June 25, 2021.
- Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. "Motor Vehicle Registrations." Accessed June 25, 2021.
- Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. "DUI Frequently Asked Questions." Accessed June 28, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "2020 Insurance Fact Book." Accessed June 25, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Facts + Statistics: Uninsured Motorists." Accessed June 25, 2021.
- Kelley Blue Book. "Penalties for Driving without Car Insurance by State." Accessed June 28, 2021.