Delaware car insurance laws dictate that drivers must have at least 25/50/10 in liability coverage and personal injury protection (PIP). This means you must have $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person, up to $50,000 per accident and $10,000 in property damage coverage plus $15,000 in PIP. The minimums can protect drivers from paying for a third party’s medical costs in the event of an accident and also ensure that the drivers themselves are protected. Not having an auto insurance policy that meets Delaware’s car insurance requirements is illegal and can lead to a driver being fined, penalized or even put in jail.
Delaware Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Delaware?
How much car insurance you need in Delaware depends on a number of factors, including the value of your vehicle and what you can afford. However, in Delaware, the minimum car insurance coverage a driver should have includes 25/50/10 in liability coverage along with personal injury protection. This means that you need:
- $25,000 in bodily injury per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 in property damage per accident
- $15,000 in personal injury protection
Note that while these are the minimum limits, you are free to increase them according to your needs and for additional protection.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
In Delaware, car insurance laws require that drivers have a minimum amount of liability coverage and personal injury protection to drive in the state. Drivers need 25/50/10 in liability limits, which includes $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident with a $25,000 limit per person and $10,000 in property damage coverage. Bodily injury pays for the medical expenses of an injured third party, while property damage liability pays for damages to a third party’s vehicle or personal property.
Drivers in Delaware are also required to have at least $15,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. This pays for any injuries you may incur as the driver and any injuries your passengers may receive in an accident, regardless of who is at fault.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Delaware?
Car insurance premiums in Delaware are computed based on a number of factors. Personal details, like your age, postal code, credit score, driving history and more, will be considered by insurers. Your choice of insurer also affects your rates, as some insurers will weigh some factors more heavily than others.
The cheapest insurer in Delaware is USAA, charging an average of $355 per year. However, their policies are only available for current and former military members and their families. State Farm is the next cheapest and most widely available insurer, with their policies costing an average of $791 per year.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Delaware
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Delaware
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Delaware driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
The premiums gathered by MoneyGeek were based on the state’s minimum coverage of 25/50/10 with $15,000 in personal injury protection coverage. A sample profile of a 40-year-old male based in Delaware with a 2010 Toyota Camry and a good driving record and credit score was used.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Delaware While Leasing a Car?
If you’re leasing a car, the leasing company may have different car insurance requirements compared to the state. Usually, these requirements are higher. For drivers in Delaware, car lease insurance requirements can vary from company to company, but most leasing companies may ask that you carry full coverage car insurance with at least 100/300/50 liability limits. To determine your actual minimum limits, contact your financial leasing company.
While the state of Delaware imposes a minimum liability limit and PIP coverage, note that this may not be enough if you get into an accident. How much car insurance you need depends on your driving history and other factors.
Generally, MoneyGeek recommends having full coverage insurance with at least 50/100/50 in liability limits, as this can increase your financial protection. Considering that 8.5% of drivers in Delaware are uninsured, it’s best to stay on the safe side and have comprehensive and collision coverage with higher liability limits.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Delaware
Since car insurance is a legal requirement in Delaware, you’re liable to receive a host of penalties if you’re caught without it. This is why you must always carry proof of insurance through an insurance ID card physically or electronically to show authorities in the event of an accident.
If you are caught driving by a law enforcement officer without any insurance, you will face the following penalties upon conviction:
- Driving license and vehicle registration suspension for six months
- Fines between $1,500 and $3,000
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Delaware
As car insurance laws can vary, understanding the requirements in Delaware can be a little confusing. MoneyGeek has answered a few frequently asked questions to help drivers in Delaware navigate the realm of car insurance.
Learn More About Car Insurance
About the Author
- CARCO. "CARCO FAQs." Accessed July 9, 2021.
- CollisionClaims.com. "Delaware Diminished Value Claims." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Delaware.gov. "Personal Injury Protection." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Experian. "Can Someone Drive My Car and Be Covered on My Insurance?." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Farmers. "CARCO Inspections." Accessed July 28, 2021.
- Insurance Commissioner of the State of Delaware. "The Instant Insurance Guide: Auto." Accessed July 9, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "2020 Insurance Factbook." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Facts + Statistics: Uninsured motorists." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Kelly Blue Book. "Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance by State." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Motor1. "What Documents Do You Need For Car Insurance? (2021)." Accessed July 9, 2021.