For drivers in Arkansas, car insurance laws require having minimum liability coverage of 25/50/25. A policy following the state minimums covers $25,000 in bodily injury per person with up to $50,000 per accident and $25,000 in property damage. Basic policies that meet the minimum coverage mandates will only protect third parties in an accident, but drivers have the option to increase coverage limits and get additional protection. Note that drivers who do not meet the required minimums run the risk of receiving fines, penalties and even jail time.
Arkansas Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Arkansas?
How much car insurance you need in Arkansas depends on your needs, but the state dictates that you must have a minimum coverage of 25/50/25 in liability limits. This includes:
- $25,000 in bodily injury per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage
While these are the minimums, drivers can adjust their coverage limits as needed to secure more protection at an additional cost.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
In Arkansas and most states, liability coverage is a requirement for drivers, but the minimum coverage required can vary based on your state. Arkansas drivers must have 25/50/25 in liability limits along with personal injury protection.
This means that a driver’s auto insurance policy must have at least $25,000 in bodily injury limits per person with a $50,000 bodily injury limit per accident. This covers the medical cost of injuries from any third party involved in an accident. Policies must also include $25,000 in property damage, which covers a third party’s property, such as their vehicle or the items inside it.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Arkansas?
In Arkansas and any state, the cost of car insurance depends on a range of factors, such as the driver’s personal information and their chosen insurance company. Personal details such as a driver’s age, postal code, driving history, credit score and more will be asked for.
USAA is the most affordable insurer in the state, with premiums at an annual average of $304. However, their policies are only available for military members and their families. The next cheapest and most widely available insurer in Arkansas is GEICO, charging an average of $373 per year for auto insurance.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Arkansas
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Arkansas
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Arkansas driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
The rates for car insurance in Arkansas were collected based on the state’s minimum coverage of 25/50/25. A sample profile was used following a 40-year-old Arkansas resident driving a 2010 Toyota Camry with a good driving record and credit score.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Arkansas While Leasing a Car?
If you’re leasing a car in Arkansas, car lease insurance requirements are often different with the leasing company in comparison to the state. Most companies require that drivers have full coverage car insurance with 100/300/50 in liability limits, but this can vary based on the company. Contact your car leasing company to find out their minimum limits.
How much car insurance coverage you need will depend on your personal situation, but MoneyGeek generally recommends that Arkansas drivers have a full coverage policy with at least 50/100/50 in liability limits. Full coverage policies come with comprehensive and collision coverage, which can protect the driver’s vehicle in case damages are caused or incurred. Given how the state of Arkansas reports that 19.3% of drivers are uninsured, protecting yourself is important to avoid financial repercussions in case of an accident where you aren’t at fault.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Arkansas
In Arkansas, car insurance laws require that drivers have auto insurance before they can drive. Without it, drivers can face a number of consequences. As Arkansas has an instant verification program to detect uninsured vehicles in real-time, having and carrying proof of insurance becomes all the more important. This can be done through an insurance ID card or a printed policy declaration page.
Driving in Arkansas without auto insurance can lead to penalties and fines, but it can also increase the cost of car insurance. In particular, drivers without auto insurance can lead to the following repercussions:
- License and vehicle registration suspension with a reinstatement fee of $20
- License and vehicle registration revocation after repeat offenses
- Driving privilege suspension
- Jail time
- Fines at a minimum of $500
- License plate removal
- Requirement of proof of insurance or SR-22
To get reinstated after a first offense, drivers may be required to show proof of insurance or file an SR-22 along with paying a $150 reinstatement fee.
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Arkansas
Before purchasing car insurance in Arkansas, you may have some questions. Here are answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about Arkansas car insurance.
Learn More About Car Insurance
About the Author
- Arkansas Democrat Gazette. "2 State Laws Target Uninsured Vehicles." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration. "Vehicle Tag Renewal." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Arkansas Insurance Department. "Consumers FAQ." Accessed July 8, 2021.
- CARCO. "CARCO FAQs." Accessed July 9, 2021.
- CollisionClaims.com. "Arkansas Diminished Value Claims." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Farmers. "CARCO Inspections." Accessed June 28, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "2020 Insurance Factbook." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute.. "Facts + Statistics: Uninsured motorists." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Kelly Blue Book. "Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance by State." Accessed July 11, 2021.